Key positions have been confirmed at the first meeting of the new Renfrewshire Council which will operate as a Scottish National Party (SNP) minority administration.

Councillor Iain Nicolson has been appointed as the Council Leader and Councillor Jim Paterson as Depute Leader.

Renfrewshire’s Provost is Councillor Lorraine Cameron, supported by Depute Provost Councillor Cathy McEwan.

renfrewshire council logo .JPG

Changes were agreed to the decision making structure of the Council, with a move from six to four policy boards:

Communities, Housing and Planning Policy Board: Councillor Marie McGurk (Convener), Councillor John McNaughtan (Depute Convener)

Education and Children’s Services Policy Board: Councillor Jim Paterson (Convener), Councillor Lorraine Cameron (Depute Convener)

Finance, Resources and Customer Services Policy Board: Councillor John Shaw (Convener), Councillor John McNaughtan (Depute Convener)

Infrastructure, Land and Environment Policy Board: Councillor Cathy McEwan (Convener), Councillor Natalie Don (Depute Convener)

Councillor Iain Nicolson was appointed as Convener and Councillor Jim Paterson as Depute Convener to the Leadership Board, which has been revised to incorporate the remit of the previous Economy and Jobs Policy Board.

A Cross Party Sounding Board will also be established comprising the Leader and Depute Leader of the Council and representatives from each of the political parties and groups.

Appointments were also confirmed for the positions of Convener and Depute Convener of the five Local Area Committees, which fund local initiatives and enable the local community to see how services are operating in their areas:

Houston, Crosslee, Linwood, Riverside & Erskine Local Area Committee: Councillor Natalie Don (Convener), Councillor Michelle Campbell (Depute Convener)

Johnstone and the Villages Local Area Committee: Councillor Andy Steel (Convener), Councillor Emma Rodden (Depute Convener)

Paisley North Local Area Committee: Councillor Jennifer Adam-McGregor (Convener), Councillor John McNaughtan (Depute Convener)

Paisley South Local Area Committee: Councillor Marie McGurk (Convener), Councillor Stephen Burns (Depute Convener)

Renfrew and Gallowhill Local Area Committee: Councillor John Shaw (Convener), Councillor Cathy McEwan (Depute Convener)

The meeting also confirmed Renfrewshire Council has agreed to seek to rejoin COSLA.


Founder of in 1998 and constantly strives to change peoples attitudes to the town, Brian is a self described Paisley Digital Champion who promotes Paisley via any means necessary. You can also follow me on X