renfrewshire council logo .JPG

The countdown to the council election on Thursday 4 May is well underway.

renfrewshire council logo .JPG


Renfrewshire’s election team is advising people that they still have time to register to vote and to secure a postal vote.

The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Monday 17 April. The deadline to apply to obtain a postal or proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday 18 April.

A video guide has also been produced which explains how to correctly fill out a postal vote for the election.

Alasdair MacTaggart, Electoral Registration Officer with Renfrewshire Valuation Joint Board, said:  “The message that we want to get out to people is that while the April 17 deadline to register to vote is fast approaching, our staff can advise you on getting that done in person or online.

“The process is quick and easy. People can register to vote at The Electoral  Registration  Office, The Robertson Centre, 16 Glasgow Road, Paisley PA1 3QF, or contact us on 0300 300 0150.

“To help people register, our Paisley office will remain open on Easter Monday, 17 April, between 10am and 4pm.

”People can also register to vote online at the website via the ‘Register to Vote’ link.”

Sandra Black, Returning Officer for the local government election for the Renfrewshire Council area, said:  “People who will start to receive their postal votes from Friday April 14 onwards will note that they are in a slightly different format than those used in the past.

“That is why we have prepared an easy to follow video guide which explains how people should complete postal votes.

“The video guide can be viewed at

“Renfrewshire had an excellent turnout of young voters in the recent Scottish Youth Parliament election and we are aiming to build on that in the council election.

“Anyone aged 16 on or before the day of the election – May 4 – should register to vote by April 17.”

Renfrewshire voters will be electing 43 councillors across 12 wards – a change from the current position where 40 councillors represent 11 council wards.

The result will be known on the afternoon of Friday May 5.