Gender Balanced Team Revealed

The SNP have today announced their Renfrewshire candidates for the up-coming local authority elections in May.

The team of 12 men and 12 women will be attempting to take control of Renfrewshire Council from the current Labour Administration.

SNP Group leader Cllr Kenny MacLaren said:

“We’ve got a strong team in place, a good mix of experience and new candidates to bring fresh ideas for the SNP taking control of Renfrewshire Council.

May 4th can be a fresh start for Renfrewshire, a new SNP administration will take Renfrewshire forward, working with the SNP Scottish Government to protect all Renfrewshire residents from Tory cuts.

“Labour has failed Renfrewshire, they’ve wasted money on closing and then re-opening civic amenity sites, while at the same time our recycling rates plummet.  They’ve wasted money on new LED streetlights which have brought a new dark age to Renfrewshire.  They have run out of ideas and have slashed core services like decent roads and a clean environment.  Renfrewshire can’t afford another Labour administration, only the SNP can deliver on the services that the people of Renfrewshire demand.”

SNP Party Chair and Renfrewshire MSP Derek Mackay added:

“Last year the SNP took action to address the inequality of women being under represented in politics. The mechanisms we introduced helped ensure more women came forward for selection.

“This has seen us end up with a gender balanced field of candidates here in Renfrewshire. This 50/50 split will rival any group of candidates, from any party, anywhere in Scotland. This is something which will only benefit Renfrewshire long term.

“The council chambers should represent their communities, and women, underrepresented in the past, should see their representation enhanced by this gender balanced field of candidates.”

Candidates as follows:

Ward 1 Renfrew North & Braehead

John Shaw
Lisa-Marie Hughes

Ward 2 Renfrew South & Gallowhill

Cllr Jim Paterson
Cllr Cathy McEwan

Ward 3 Paisley Northeast & Ralston

John Clark
Jennifer Adam-McGregor

Ward 4 Paisley Northwest

Cllr Mags MacLaren
Cllr Kenny MacLaren

Ward 5 Paisley East & Central

Cllr Will Mylet
John McNaughtan

Ward 6 Paisley Southeast

Janette Swanson
Cllr Marie McGurk

Ward 7 Paisley Southwest

Brian McGuire
Cllr Lorraine Cameron
Stephen Burns

Ward 8 Johnstone South & Elderslie

Andy Steel
Jacqueline Cameron

Ward 9 Johnstone North, Kilbarchan, Howwood and Lochwinnoch

Graeme Stockton
Emma Rodden

Ward 10 Houston, Crosslee & Linwood

Robert Innes
Cllr Audrey Doig

Ward 11 Bishopton, Bridge of Weir & Langbank

Natalie Don

Ward 12 Erskine & Inchinnan

Cllr Iain Nicolson
Michelle Campbell