The 2022 Local Government Election Count at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Renfrewshire has concluded today (Friday 6 May), with 43 councillors elected to Renfrewshire Council across 12 ward areas.

A total of 62,973 votes were cast in the election, which represented a 44.4% turnout.

The number of councillors elected for each political party were:

  • Scottish National Party (SNP) – 21
  • Scottish Labour Party – 14
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 5
  • Labour and Co-operative Party – 1
  • Scottish Liberal Democrats – 1
  • Independent – 1

There were 59 polling stations used across Renfrewshire, including community centres, village halls and bowling clubs, with 165 ballot boxes, 84 postal vote ballot boxes and almost 700 staff supporting the election process in a range of roles.

Alan Russell, Returning Officer for Renfrewshire, said: “I would like to congratulate each of the elected candidates and look forward to working with them at Renfrewshire Council.

“I want to thank everyone who played their part in delivering this election as I know staff worked tirelessly to put everything in place so voters could cast their votes, as well supporting the Count process at the Lagoon.”

The first meeting of the new Council, which will confirm Renfrewshire’s Provost and Council Leader, takes place on Thursday 19 May 2022.

Full results are available to view on the Renfrewshire Council website at