, , , , , , , ,

Ferguslie invited to public meeting on new community council

renfrewshire council logo .JPG

Residents in Ferguslie are being urged to attend a public meeting on forming a community council in the area.

renfrewshire council logo .JPG

The meeting – which is being held on Monday 28 August, at 7pm in St Ninian’s Church Hall – is the next stage in the process of setting up a new community council, following Renfrewshire Council receiving a petition signed by 20 local residents.

People will be able to ask questions about community councils, find out about how members are ‘elected’, and discuss the potential election timetable.

Ferguslie Community Council will represent the area designated as Craigielea in Renfrewshire Council’s Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils 2015.

Ferguslie is currently one of five local areas where there is no active community council. The others are Charleston, Glenburn, Gallowhill and Hunterhill.

Renfrewshire Council Leader Iain Nicolson said: “Community councils provide a valuable way to express views on behalf of all residents, acting as their voice and expressing significant matters and concerns to the Council and its community planning partners.

“It is encouraging to see residents within the Ferguslie area seek to form their own community council and be empowered to make decisions locally.”

Anne McNaughton, Community Council Liaison Officer for Renfrewshire Council, explained: “The public meeting is an opportunity for all residents living within the area to come along and find out more about forming a community council and the role of community council members.

“A minimum of 7 residents living in the area need to be elected to the community council, with a maximum of 21 allowed.

“Any person who is 16 or over, resident within the community council area and listed on the electoral roll is eligible to become a member of the community council.”

More information about Ferguslie Community Council is available online at www.renfrewshire.gov.uk/FerguslieCC.