SYP 04

Renfrewshire Council’s Leader Mark Macmillan is looking forward to working with Renfrewshire’s newly-elected Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament to tackle poverty.

Emma Eck, Osama Nadeem, Mark Dougan, Eilidh Harkness and Carrie McIntyre were elected as MSYPs in March to represent young people in Renfrewshire.

SYP 04

The MSYPs will be joined by nearly 200 delegates when they attend their first National Sitting on 13 and 14 June at Park Mains High School, Erskine.

And the Leader is looking forward to working with local MSYPs on the Scottish Youth Parliament’s next campaign – POVERTY.

SYP 14

Last year, Councillor Macmillan met with Renfrewshire’s former MSYPs on the Care.Fair.Share campaign, which resulted in the council passing a motion on fairer pay for young carers.

Mark Macmillan said: “Tackling poverty is one of this council’s top priorities, so I welcome the chance to work with our local MSYPs on their new campaign – POVERTY.

“Supporting young people out of poverty was the main reason the Renfrewshire Tackling Poverty Commission – the first of its kind in Scotland – was initiated by the council. And over the summer we will plan the delivery our £6m tackling poverty fund. We already have successful programmes underway, like Families First which helps support parents with children in their early years, offering advice and practical support.

“We have an excellent track record of working with young people. When the outgoing MSYPs approached the council on the Care.Fair.Share campaign, we listened and voted to adopt fairer pay for young carers. I am looking forward to working with the current MSYPs over the next two years.”

The POVERTY campaign is seeking to raise awareness among young people about poverty, combat poverty stigma and work with decision makers to uphold the UK-wide commitment to tackle child poverty by 2020.

For more information on the POVERTY campaign, visit

Young people choose Scottish Youth Parliament

Young people in Renfrewshire have cast their votes to select the area’s representatives in the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Five young people from Renfrewshire were chosen by the votes of people aged between 12 and 25.

Compared to the last Scottish Youth Parliament election in 2011, the numbers of votes cast overall doubled in this election.

Fourteen candidates stood in this election.  The five successful MSYPs will represent Paisley, Renfrewshire South and Renfrewshire North and West.

“Behind the scenes, council staff worked with schools, Reid Kerr College, and the University of the West of Scotland to support the candidates.

The successful candidates were:
Paisley constituency – Denzel Darku and Emma Hendrie
Renfrewshire South constituency – Jordan Buchanan
Renfrewshire North and West constituency – Robyn McKay and Adam Ferns
Councillor Jacqueline Henry, Convener of the Council’s Education Policy Board said: “There was a lot of support for the election process from Council staff, Reid Kerr College, and the University of the West of Scotland.

“The ideas expressed in schools and among young people in general were an indication that everyone was keen to get involved.

“After that it was down to the commitment and the ideas of the candidates themselves to convince voters.

“We’ve encouraged our young people to play their part in the democratic process, and we’re delighted with the turnout.

“The increase in voter turnout is clear evidence that the Scottish Youth Parliament is proving relevant to young people in Renfrewshire and that the Renfrewshire candidates made a real impression on voters.”

Scottish Youth Parliament