Candidates standing for election in the upcoming Scottish Youth Parliament election in March are set to hit the campaign trail.

Visiting schools, further and higher education establishments, the candidates will talk to pupils and young people about their manifestos and why young people should vote for them.

Five Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament will represent Renfrewshire in the Scottish Youth Parliament for its next two-year term. Two will be returned for the Paisley constituency, one for Renfrewshire South, and two for Renfrewshire North and West.

Councillor Jacqueline Henry, Convener of Renfrewshire Council’s Education Policy Board, said: “Young people have never before been so engaged in the democratic process and the Scottish Youth Parliament elections are a great way for young people to make their voice heard.

“Over the next few months the candidates will be taking their campaign to schools, the University and the College to talk about their manifestos. It is important that young people should take the time to listen to the candidates talk to help them decide which candidate is best to represents them.

“I would urge everyone to get involved in the democratic process.”

The Scottish Youth Parliament is made up of 150 young people, aged 14-25, who are selected through nationally co-ordinated elections held across Scotland every two years. Young people will be able to cast their vote to elect their local MSYP between Monday 2 March and Thursday 12 March 2015.

Elected Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament campaign on key issues on behalf of young people in their local area and ensure that their voices are heard by decision makers.


Andrew Ogwu – Paisley

Emma Eck – Paisley

Drew O’Donnell – Paisley

Osama Nadeem – Paisley

Chiara Oppo – Renfrewshire North West

Callum Reid – Renfrewshire North West

Eilidh Harkness – Renfrewshire North West

Mark Dougan – Renfrewshire North West

Stirling McGee – Renfrewshire South

Carrie McIntyre – Renfrewshire South

Stacey Anderson – Renfrewshire South

Candidates’ manifestos are available at