Provost’s Community Awards shortlist announced

Provosts Awards Launch 2011

The shortlist of nominees for the 2012 Renfrewshire Provost’s Community Awards has been announced.

The 17 finalists have been chosen from all the nominations received by a panel of judges headed by Renfrewshire’s Provost Celia Lawson.

The awards recognise the inspirational achievements of people from across Renfrewshire.

Each of the shortlisted nominees and the person who nominated them will be invited to attend the awards ceremony which is being held at the Glynhill Hotel, Renfrew on Saturday 25 February.

The awards are hosted by Renfrewshire’s Provost Celia Lawson who will this year be joined by STV’s Sean Batty and River City’s Tom Urie.

Provost Lawson said: “As ever the judging process was very difficult. There are so many wonderful people out there with inspiring and moving stories. All of those nominated deserve recognition and I’m delighted with all the nominations we received this year. I’m really looking forward to meeting all the finalists when they come along to the awards ceremony. It’s always a very special and moving occasion and one of my favourite jobs as Provost.”

The shortlisted nominees are:

–        The Buddy Beat, Paisley Arts Centre

–        Gleniffer High Community Music Group

–        Alexis Urie, Kibble Education and Care Centre

–        Billy Devlin, Paisley

–        Alice Beaton, Lamont Farm, Erskine

–        Edward Garry, Paisley

–        Christopher Sommerville, Paisley

–        Mary Whyte, Paisley

–        Ian Williams, Paisley

–        Jeanette Thomson, Paisley

–        John Gamble, Inchinnan

–        Irene Struthers, Johnstone

–        Graham Batin, Kilbarchan

–        Katrina Millar/Brooke Hepburn, Gleniffer High

–        Stephanie Mayo, Beechwood Women and Arts Group

–        Amber Hay, Foxbar, Paisley

–        Robbie Colquhoun, Foxbar, Paisley

–     Amiee Pollard, Paisley


Provosts Awards Launch 2011